PDA

View Full Version : Hindi Translation

LostInTranslation
13-01-2013, 05:31 PM
Hi, everyone. I studied a little Hindi some years ago, but I was never any good, plus I forgot a lot of what I learned.

Now I have been asked to translate two simple phrases into Hindi, and I thought I would try to get some help here, just to make sure I get them right.

The first one is:

"...is happiness"

which I think should be:

... ख़ुशी है

The second one is a bit more tricky:

"You are being called." i.e. "(Someone) is calling for you."

What's the best way of saying this in Hindi?

I'm guessing I need to use the verb बुलाना, but I'm not sure about the correct use of the passive voice.

P.S. In case you're wondering, this is for a musical composition where the choir will be singing some phrases in a variety of languages, including Hindi.

dipu
13-01-2013, 06:09 PM
Nice one , good going

dipu
13-01-2013, 06:12 PM
http://desmond.imageshack.us/Himg259/scaled.php?server=259&filename=textu.gif&res=landing

LostInTranslation
13-01-2013, 07:08 PM
Thanks for welcoming me to the forum :)

I tried to translate the last sentence, and this is what I got:

तुम्हें बुलाया जा रहा है

Is this correct? Is there a way to say this with fewer words?

ndhebar
13-01-2013, 07:18 PM

तुम्हें बुलाया जा रहा है

I think you are right.......

LostInTranslation
13-01-2013, 07:30 PM
I think you are right.......

Great! Thanks! Is there an alternative way of expressing the same thing?

dipu
13-01-2013, 07:30 PM

तुम्हें बुलाया जा रहा है

right :bravo:

LostInTranslation
13-01-2013, 10:29 PM
Would it make sense to just say:

तुम्हें बुलाया है

or is that totally wrong?

jitendragarg
13-01-2013, 11:54 PM
Would it make sense to just say:

तुम्हें बुलाया है

or is that totally wrong?